top of page

National History

Mission Statement

Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Incorporated is an organization of college educated women committed to the constructive development of its members and to public service with a primary focus on the Black community.

Statement of Purpose 

Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Incorporated. is a private, not-for-profit organization whose purpose is to provide assistance and support through established programs in local communities throughout the world. Since its founding more than 200,000 women have joined the organization. The organization is a sisterhood of predominantly Black, college educated women. The sorority currently has 1,000 collegiate and alumnae chapters located in the United States, England, Japan (Tokyo and Okinawa), Germany, the Virgin Islands, Bermuda, the Bahamas, Jamaica and the Republic of Korea.


Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc was founded by 22 collegiate women! These women were:

  • Osceola Macarthy Adams

  • Marguerite Young Alexander

  • Winona Cargile Alexander

  • Ethel Cuff Black

  • Bertha Pitts Campbell

  • Zephyr Chisom Carter

  • Edna Brown Coleman

  • Jessie McGuire Dent

  • Frederica Chase Dodd

  • Myra Davis Hemmings

  • Olive C. Jones

  • Jimmie Bugg Middleton

  • Pauline Oberdorfer Minor

  • Vashti Turley Murphy

  • Naomi Sewell Richardson

  • Mamie Reddy Rose

  • Eliza Pearl Shippen

  • Florence Letcher Toms

  • Ethel Carr Watson

  • Wertie Blackwell Weaver

  • Madree Penn White

  • Edith Motte Young

bottom of page